Hurricane Dorian: Key info for Coastal Empire and Lowcountry

WSAV Hurricane Central

SAVANNAH, Ga. (WSAV) – Ahead of Hurricane Dorian, WSAV has gathered important information on evacuations, school closings and helpful web links.

For information specific to your county, scroll down to find the name listed.


Georgia Governor Brian Kemp has issued mandatory evacuations for six counties in the Coastal Empire, effective noon on Monday.

This includes residents east of I-95 in Bryan, Camden, Chatham, Glynn, Liberty and McIntosh counties.

Local and state transportation agencies will start westerly contraflow on I-16 at 8 a.m. on Tuesday, Sept. 3.

Kemp has also declared a state of emergency for the aforementioned counties as well as Brantley, Charlton, Effingham, Long, Pierce and Wayne counties.

Available shelters include:

  • Trinity on the Hill United Methodist Church, 1330 Monte Sano Ave., Augusta, GA  30904
  • Westside High School, 1002 Patriots Way, Augusta, GA  30907
  • Columbus Civic Center, 400 4th St., Columbus, GA 31901
  • Coffee Square Complex, 216 S. Madison Ave, Douglas, GA 31533
  • East Laurens High School:  920 US Hwy 80 East. East Dublin, GA 31027
  • Dublin High School:  1127 Hillcrest Pkwy. Dublin, GA 31021
  • Liberty Park Community Center, 1040 Newmantown Rd., Grovetown, GA 30813
  • Atlanta Motor Speedway: 1500 Tara Pl, Hampton, GA 30228
  • South Bibb Recreation Center: 7035 Houston Rd, Macon, GA 31216
  • Sweetwater Park Gym, 180 Sweetwater Road, Thompson, GA  30824
  • Ware County High School, 700 Victory Drive, Waycross, GA 31503

Find more information for shelters, including pets, here.

For more information specific to each county, find yours listed below:

Follow Georgia Emergency Management and Homeland Security Agency:

How to report price gouging:

If you feel that you may have been the victim of a scam or price gouging contact the Office of the Attorney General’s Consumer Protection Unit at 1-800-869-1123 toll-free.

Reports can also be made online here.


South Carolina Governor Henry McMaster has announced mandatory evacuations in the state, including Beaufort County and Jasper County Zone A.

Also included in the order: Colleton Zones A, B; Charleston Zones A, B, C; Dorchester Zone D; Berkeley Zones B, G; Horry Zone A Georgetown Zone A.

On Saturday, the governor issued an executive order declaring a state of emergency across the state.

Available shelters include:

  • Williamsburg County Rec, 2084 Thurgood Marshall Road, Kingstree, SC 29556
  • Dubose Middle School, 1005 Dubose School Road, Summerville, SC 29483 (pet friendly)
  • Conway High School, 2301 Church Street, Conway, SC 29526
  • Loris High School, 301 Loris Lions Road, Loris, SC 29569
  • Ocean Bay Middle School, 905 International Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29579
  • Ridgeland High-Junior-Elementary Complex, 250 Jaguar Trail, Ridgeland, SC 29936
  • Charleston County Coastal Pre-release Center, 3765 Leeds Avenue, North Charleston, SC 29405 (pet friendly)
  • Pleasant Hill Elementary, 127 Schoolhouse Road, Hemingway, SC 29554
  • Stall High School, 3625 Ashley Phosphate Road, North Charleston, SC 29418
  • Zucker Middle School, 6401 Dorchester Road, North Charleston, SC 29418
  • North Myrtle Beach High School, 3750 Sea Mountain Highway, Little River, SC 29566
  • Aynor Middle School, 400 Frye Road, Galivants Ferry, SC 29544
  • Military Magnet, 2950 Carner Avenue, North Charleston, SC 29405
  • Voorhees College Leonard E. Dawson Health & Humans Resource Center, 5573 Voorhees Road, Denmark, SC 29042
  • Colleton County High School, 150 Cougar Nation Drive, Walterboro, SC 29488

For directions to each emergency shelter, visit here.

For more information specific to each county, find yours listed below:

Traffic info:

State and local agencies will implement lane reversals along certain evacuation routes at noon Monday, Sept. 2, to assist traffic flow.

The lane reversal on US 278 has been discontinued. It’s now operating as normal with traffic moving in both directions. Tolls on the Cross Island Parkway remain suspended.

From Charleston to Columbia, a full four-lane reversal will be implemented on I-26 in Charleston, beginning at the interchange of I-26 and I-526. The full reversal continues west until the I-26 crossover to I-77 just outside Columbia in Lexington County.

Visit here to view a map of what exits will be open or closed during lane reversal operations.

Price Gouging:

If you feel you may have been the victim of a scam or price gouging contact the South Carolina Attorney General at 803-737-3953 and leave a message, or email any examples of documentation to if you have witnessed a likely violation.

Follow South Carolina Emergency Management Division:

More from WSAV News 3 On Your Side:
News 3 will continue to update this page with new and additional information. For additional storm coverage, visit WSAV’s Hurricane Central here. Be sure to download our FREE news and weather apps to easily access storm information and receive direct alerts for breaking news.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories