DORIAN: Important info for Jasper County residents


From school closings to evacuation orders, WSAV has gathered important information for Jasper County residents.

On Sunday, Sept. 1, Governor Henry McMaster issued a mandatory evacuation order for Jasper County residents living in Zone A, effective noon Monday.

If sustained winds exceed 39 miles per hour, emergency services in Jasper County have stated they will not respond to calls for service.

Not sure of your zone? Visit the South Carolina Emergency Management Divison’s interactive zone map here.

There is no curfew is in place as of Tuesday afternoon.

Apoyo Latino SC NC Ga: Mire la última actualización aquí.


  • Jasper County School District closed through Friday
  • John Paul II Catholic School will be closed until further notice
  • Thomas Heyward Academy closed through Friday (including athletics and daycare)
  • Polaris Tech Charter School will be closed Tuesday and until further notice
  • Wells Fargo branches will close through Thursday
  • The Bluffton Jasper Volunteers in medicine clinics in Bluffton and Ridgeland will be closed until further notification

Additional information

A shelter is open at Ridgeland-Hardeeville High School (250 Jaguar Trail, Ridgeland). News 3 is told 134 stayed there Monday night and there is still more room. The shelter is pet-friendly, but you will need to bring a cage, leash, food and current vaccination tag for your pet.

Public safety agencies plan to go door-to-door in several high-risk areas of Jasper County within evacuation zones to further encourage people to evacuate.


Beaufort-Jasper Water & Sewer Authority (BJWSA) emergency crews will not be available after 4 p.m. today. The crews will remain sheltered in place until it is deemed safe for them to travel.

BJWSA will restrict water flow in certain causeway valves starting today at 2 p.m. to protect the drinking water system. The affected causeway valves are:

  • Bermuda Bluff
  • Birdfoot Landing
  • Callawassie Island
  • Cat Island
  • Coosaw Island
  • Distant Island
  • Vivian’s Island
  • Harbor, Hunting and Fripp Islands
  • Horse Island Drive
  • Kingston Key Drive
  • Myrtle Island Drive
  • Pine Island
  • Tansi Village
  • Warsaw Island

The purpose of the restrictions is to prevent an extreme loss of water pressure due to the hurricane. Follow BJWSA on their website and social media for more updates.

If water becomes unsafe for consumption, a boil water advisory will be announced. For tips on safe water consumption, follow this link.

Important links

Jasper County Emergency Management Website

Jasper County Sheriff’s Office Facebook

Visit here to view important information for other counties.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories