2019 municipal elections: Qualified candidates to date

Your Local Election HQ

SAVANNAH, Ga. (WSAV) – Municipal election qualifications for those wishing to run for office are in full swing throughout the state.

News 3 has put together a comprehensive guide of qualified candidates and important dates for you to know before you head to the polls.

How to register to vote

The Georgia Secretary of State has a website called My Voter Page dedicated to any voting-related questions. Anyone can log in with their personal information to see if they are registered to vote, receive a card with your polling place and where their polling place is.

If you aren’t registered to vote, you can also register through the website.

You must be registered by October 7 in order to be eligible to vote this year.

Election Calendar and Important Dates

Elections here in Savannah are run with the help of the Chatham County Board of Election.

  • Voter Registration Deadline: Monday, October 7, 2019
  • Election Day: Tuesday, November 5, 2019
  • Election Runoff: Tuesday, December 3, 2019

Who has qualified to run in November

The qualifying period goes from Monday, August 19 to Friday, August 23. News 3 is keeping track of the candidates who have officially qualified and will continue to update the list.

(Last update: Thursday, Aug. 22 at 5:30 p.m.)


  • Mayor: Eddie DeLoach (incumbent), Van Johnson, Regina Thomas, Louis Wilson, Sr.
  • Alderman At-Large Post 1: Carol Bell (incumbent), Kesha Gibson-Carter
  • Alderman At-Large Post 2: Alicia Blakely, Tony Center
  • District 1 Alderman: Bernetta Lanier, Peter Pannizo
  • District 2 Alderman: Bill Durrence (incumbent), Detric Leggett
  • District 3 Alderman: John Hall (incumbent), Linda Wilder-Bryan
  • District 4 Alderman: Nick Palumbo
  • District 5 Alderman: Estella Edwards Shabazz (incumbent)
  • District 6 Alderman: Antonio Hunter, Kurtis Purtee, Tony Thomas (incumbent)

Garden City

  • Mayor: Don Bethune (incumbent), Gary Monroe
  • Council District 2: Debbie Ruiz (incumbent)
  • Council District 3: Bruce Campbell (incumbent), Natalyn Morris
  • Council District 4: Rosetta Bryant Cody (incumbent), Richard Lassiter, Jr., Juanita Longmire


  • Mayor: Adam Bridges, Steve Larson
  • Council: Bruce Allen (incumbent), Shannon Black (incumbent), Aaron Higgins, Tom Hutcherson, Falgun “Pappu” Patel, John Wilcher, Karen Williams

Tybee Island

  • Mayor: Wanda Doyle, Mack Kitchens, Shirley Sessions
  • Council: Barry Brown (incumbent), Fidelia Fowler, David McNaughton, Brian West


  • Council Post 2: Michael Gerwig


  • Council: Justin Cribbs (incumbent), Steve Shealy (incumbent), Gary Whiteman (incumbent),


  • Council: Reese Browher (incumbent), James Dasher (incumbent), Paul Wendelken (incumbent)

Richmond Hill

  • Council Post 2: Robbie Ward
  • Council Post 3: Bill Donahue (previously appointed), Mark Ott
  • Council Post 4: Les Fussell (previously appointed), Steve Scholar


  • Mayor: Judy Cook (incumbent)
  • Council District 4: Tiffany Walraven (incumbent)


  • Council District 2: Paulette Chavers, Sam Jones (incumbent)
  • Council District 3: Jeff Yawn (incumbent)
  • Council District 5: Derek Duke (incumbent)


  • Mayor: Allen Brown (incumbent), Liston Singletary, III
  • Council District 1: Diana Reid, Cathey Winn
  • Council District 2: Jason Floyd (incumbent), Richard Hayes
  • Council District 3: Vicky Nelson (incumbent), Arthur Nixon
  • Council District 4: Keith Jenkins (incumbent), Dexter Newby
  • Council District 5: Karl Riles (incumbent)

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories