Your Local Election HQ

Georgia's July 24 election results

The results are in for the primary runoff elections in Georgia. After the May 22 election, this race decides who will go head-to-head on November 6.

Voter registration deadline is October 9 for the November election.  

The race for Georgia Governor:

After a fierce primary runoff against Casey Cagle, Brian Kemp will advance to the November election against Stacey Abrams.

Kemp: 406,638 - 69%
Cagle: 178,877 - 31%

Current Georgia Governor, Nathan Deal, is unable to run in this election because of term limits.

Republican Lt. Governor:  

The race between David Shafer and Geoff Duncan was a virtual tie.

Duncan: 279,226 - 50%
Shafer: 277,496 - 50%

Once the Secretary of State certifies the election, the runner-up will have five days to request a recount.

The winner faces Democrat Sarah Riggs Amico in November. 

Republican Secretary of State:

Brad Raffensperger took the win over David Belle Isle.

Raffensperger: 329,667 - 62%
Belle Isle: 204,159 - 38%

Raffensperger faces Democrat John Barrow in November. 

Democrat State School Superintendent:

Otha Thornton Jr. defeated Sid Chapman in the runoff.

Thornton: 86,691 - 59%
Chapman: 59,998 - 41%

Thornton faces Incumbent Republican Richard Woods. 

Republican Bulloch County Commission District 2/Seat B:

Incumbent Walter Gibson wins against Travis Chance.

Gibson: 1,770 - 52%
Chance: 1,660 - 48%

Gibson has no opposition in November. 

Republican Wayne County Commission District 3:

Incumbent Mike Roberts takes the win over W. Ferrell Cooksey.

Roberts: 269 - 54%
Cooksey: 233 - 46%

The winner has no opposition in November. 

Non-Partisan Savannah-Chatham School Board President:

Joe Buck vs. Betty Morgan. 

Buck: 11,950 - 64%
Morgan: 6,643 - 36%

This is not a primary election and Buck will take the seat. 

Non-Partisan Effingham County School Board District 1:

Lynn Anderson takes the win over incumbent Robert Grant.

Anderson: 439 - 51%
Grant: 418 - 49%

This is not a primary election and the winner will take the seat. 

Non-Partisan Liberty County School Board District 4:

Jim Johns wins against Annette Payne.

Johns: 365 - 68%
Payne: 170 - 32%

This is not a primary election and Johns will take the seat.

More News

Meet the Team

Don't Miss

Latest News - Local

Video Center