Governor Henry McMaster lifts evacuations in Beaufort, Jasper and Colleton Counties at 3 p.m. Thursday

South Carolina News

COLUMBIA, S.C. (WSAV) – Governor Henry McMaster has lifted evacuation orders for all residents in Beaufort, Jasper and Colleton Counties, effective at 3 p.m. Thursday.

Residents returning to these counties should still wait for confirmation from local officials that the county is cleared and safe for re-entry.

Beaufort and Jasper County local officials have said residents are clear to return at 3 p.m.

Local Jasper County officials have confirmed that the dirt portion of Bolan Hall Road has limited access and is impassable for cars. Myrtle Pl. has two washouts that are also impassable.

Colleton County local officials have yet to confirm if it will be clear by 3 p.m. The Colleton County Sheriff’s Office Facebook page shared multiple photos of officials still working to clear trees from roadways. They are asking that drivers use extreme caution.

Residents returning home to all of these counties are encouraged to be patient and expect traffic, blocked roadway, downed power lines and standing water on roads.

Officials also said that while weather conditions have improved in these counties, drivers should be careful and be prepared to return to possible power outages.

The governor also restored local officials’ authority over school schedules and government office schedules in Beaufort, Jasper and Colleton Counties.

Evacuation orders for Charleston, Dorchester, Berkeley, Georgetown, and Horry counties remain in effect as Hurricane Dorian continues to pose a threat to those areas. Those will be lifted as the storm moves on and local officials confirm it is safe to do so.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories