Savannah Police Department swears in 14 new officers

Local News

SAVANNAH, Ga. (WSAV) – Fourteen new officers were sworn into the Savannah Police Department at the Savannah Civic Center on Friday.

The most recent class was officially sworn in after weeks of training at the Georgia Public Safety Training Center and specialized training at the SPD Professional Development Center.

Mayor Van Johnson, City Manager Pat Monahan, City Council members, Alderman Nick Palumbo, Alderwoman Kesha Gibson-Carter, Alderman Kurtis Purtee and Alderwoman Bernetta Lanier, attended Friday’s ceremony as a show of support to the new officers.

The ceremony was streamed on Facebook for family and friends to watch.

The following officers were sworn in:

  • Officer Kolby Burwell
  • Officer James Clowers, Jr.
  • Officer Christopher Fortune
  • Officer Joalis Gomez
  • Officer Thomas Love
  • Officer Ryan McDonnell
  • Officer William Reynolds
  • Officer Keith Roland
  • Officer Colleen Sweeney
  • Officer Matthew Tufts
  • Officer Cheyenne Urban
  • Officer Joseph Vales
  • Officer Adam Weiss
  • Officer Matthew White


Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories