Gov. Kemp declares state of emergency ahead of Elsa

Georgia News

FILE – In this Dec. 8, 2020, file photo, Georgia Gov. Brian Kemp speaks to reporters during a COVID-19 update in the Capitol in Atlanta. (AP Photo/John Bazemore, File)

SAVANNAH, Ga. (WSAV) – Gov. Brian Kemp declared a state of emergency Tuesday for 92 counties due to the potential effects of Elsa.

The executive order will remain in effect through Wednesday, July 14, unless renewed.

This frees up resources to be used for preparation, response and recovery efforts surrounding the storm. It also prohibits price gouging.

The order applies to all 20 counties in the Coastal Empire, including Appling, Bacon, Bryan, Bulloch, Camden, Candler, Chatham, Coffee, Effingham, Evans, Glynn, Jeff Davis, Liberty, Long, McIntosh, Montgomery, Screven, Tattnall, Toombs and Wayne.

According to Storm Team 3, local impacts from Elsa could include heavy rain, gusty winds, isolated tornadoes and localized flooding into Thursday.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories