Georgia sees 4th coronavirus death, Emory Healthcare reports


A rendering of coronavirus via the CDC.

ATLANTA (WSAV) – Health officials reported three COVID-19 deaths Wednesday, bringing the state total number of fatalities to four.

A patient who was treated with Emory Healthcare died, though no additional details were immediately released.

“This is an incredibly sad day for this patient’s family and we are all saddened by this news,” Emory Healthcare stated. “We are unable to provide any more details due to patient confidentiality.”

According to the Georgia Department of Public Health (DPH), the two other patients who died were being treated at Phoebe Putney Memorial Hospital in Albany. The hospital first confirmed the deaths in a statement Wednesday.

“The entire Phoebe Family is saddened to learn of the first COVID-19 deaths in our area. We remain committed to faithfully serving the needs of our community. Each day, we are caring for additional people we suspect may have COVID-19,” Steven Kitchen, Phoebe Putney Memorial Hospital Chief Medical Officer, said. “Unfortunately, more deaths are likely to occur, and we will certainly see more positive cases as we receive more test results. We strongly urge everyone to heed warnings and practice proper social distancing. We need to do all we can now to try to slow the spread of the virus.”

DPH later confirmed the deaths and identified the patients as a 42-year-old woman and a 69-year-old woman. Both women had existing medical conditions.

Last week, Georgia reported its first death, a 67-year-old man being treated in Marietta.

Also on Wednesday, the DPH announced that there are now 197 confirmed cases of COVID-19 in Georgia. On Tuesday, there were 146 total confirmed cases.

Confirmed COVID-19 cases in Georgia are broken down by county below.

  • Fulton County- 49
  • Cobb County- 28
  • Bartow County- 19
  • DeKalb County- 18
  • Cherokee County- 9
  • Fayette County- 8
  • Gwinnett County- 7
  • Dougherty County- 7
  • Clayton County- 6
  • Floyd County- 6
  • Lowndes County- 5
  • Clarke County- 5
  • Gordon County- 3
  • Newton County- 3
  • Hall County- 3
  • Coweta County- 3
  • Paulding County- 3
  • Troop County- 2
  • Henry County- 2
  • Lee County- 2
  • Forsyth County- 2
  • Columbia County- 1
  • Houston County- 1
  • Richmond County- 1
  • Whitfield County- 1
  • Polk County- 1
  • Charlton County- 1
  • Barrow County- 1

According to the Wednesday afternoon report by DPH, 39% of confirmed cases are in adults 60 years of age or older. 43% of cases are also in adults between the ages of 18 and 59, while only 2% are under 17. The state reported 16% of confirmed cases are of unknown age at this time.

DPH also reported Sunday that 46% of confirmed cases are in females, and 54% are in males.

Governor Brian Kemp also announced Wednesday that Georgia has received an official statewide disaster declaration from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA). This will provide assistance to small business impacted by COVID-19 throughout the state.

The application is now live. Georgia small business owners can get more information and fill out an application HERE.

DPH will provide updates of confirmed COVID-19 cases in Georgia every day at 12 p.m. WSAV has the latest updates on the coronavirus HERE.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories