Chatham County Designated Natural Disaster Area - Local news, weather, sports Savannah | WSAV On Your Side

Chatham County Designated Natural Disaster Area

Posted: Updated:
Chatham County -

 The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated 79 counties as a natural disaster area  due to rain damages.  Farmers in all the affected counties are now eligible for financial help to cover losses caused by excessive rain that began April 1st 2013.

The disaster declaration included Bryan, Camden, Chatham, Effingham, Glynn, Liberty, McIntosh, in Georgia.

All counties listed above were designated natural disaster areas Sept. 25, 2013, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for low interest emergency loans from USDA's Farm Service Agency, provided eligibility requirements are met.  Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses.

Also, the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) said federal economic injury disaster loans are available to small businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small businesses engaged in aquaculture and most private non-profit organizations of all sizes located in Georgia

Powered by WorldNow

1430 East Victory Drive
Savannah, GA 31404

Telephone: 912.651.0300
Fax: 912.651.0320

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Media General Communications Holdings, LLC. A Media General Company.