Ceremony Honors Officers "Years of Service" - Local news, weather, sports Savannah | WSAV On Your Side

Ceremony Honors Officers "Years of Service"

Posted: Updated:
Cpl. Clifford Perry, Jr. honored for 50 years with the Savannah-Chatham Metro Police Department Cpl. Clifford Perry, Jr. honored for 50 years with the Savannah-Chatham Metro Police Department

Age is just a state of mind, and Tuesday age was celebrated by the Savannah-Chatham Metro Police Department.

42 officers and civilians were recognized for their dedication and service to the department at the quarterly "Years of Service" awards ceremony.

The officers who have reached their 50, 30, 25, 20, 15, 10 and five years of service milestones were recognized with a service pin, certificate and other gifts.

A special honor was saved for Cpl. Clifford Perry, Jr.

The City of Savannah, Savannah-Chatham Police and Chatham County all recognized Perry for his 50 years of service on the force.  He began his career in 1963 and is currently a Financial Crimes investigator. 

Mr. Perry was presented with a shadow box and certificate from the Command Staff, a Proclamation from the City of Savannah and a medallion from the Chatham County Commissioners.

Capt. Carl Ramey and Sgt. Joseph Wright also received their service pins for 30 years with SCMPD.  Capt. Kerry Thomas was honored for serving 25 years with the department.  Twenty-year service pins were presented to Sgt. LaPrentice Mayes, Star Cpl. Diane Williams, APO Roy Ricardo and APO Peter "Mike" Ramsey. 

Those celebrating 15 years of service are Sgt. Yujean Foster, APO Marilyn Anderson, Ms. Cora Garman, Ms. Cheryl Jones, and Ms. Shondia Ward. 

Thirteen individuals were honored for their 10 years of service:  Sgt. Cameron Kovach, APO David Arbizo, APO Bryan Carelock, APO Rodney Cooper, Det. Corey Cotton, APO Kenneth Leach, APO Carl Meadows, APO Jeffrey Mikloucich, APO Christina Windsor, APO Jorge Tupaci, Mr. Luisander Muniz, Ms. Gianna Nelson and Ms. Dendee Scott.  

The five years of service recipients included:  APO Philip Berger, APO Larry Brown, APO Ruben Colon, APO Kevin Fikes, APO Bryan Holler, Det. Wesley Johnson, Det. Charles Pugh, APO Daniel Stephenson, Det. Abby Blaser, Det. Tamara Jackson-Glover, Det. Jason Manley, Ptl. Tarra Smith, Mr. James Dale, Ms. Chantel McIver, Ms. Judith Miller, Ms. Azeezah Sharif.


Powered by WorldNow

1430 East Victory Drive
Savannah, GA 31404

Telephone: 912.651.0300
Fax: 912.651.0320
Email: newsemailalert@wsav.com

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Media General Communications Holdings, LLC. A Media General Company.