Savannah-Chatham School Board President qualified candidates announced

SAVANNAH, Ga. (WSAV) - Officials have released the final list of qualified candidates for the upcoming Savannah-Chatham County Public School System election.

Five candidates have qualified to run for Savannah-Chatham School Board President, including Joe Buck who formerly held the position.

Current school board president, Jolene Byrne is not on the list. She announced via Facebook on February 1 that she would not seek re-election stating, “… Because I believe that putting the best interests of our children, our school district, and our community first is far more important than my personal interests or position, I have come to the difficult decision that I will not be seeking a second term as School Board President. While I believe that my work on the Board has been true to the commitments I made to our children and my dedicated supporters, and while the petty allegations and political maneuvers of those who fear change have continued to be proven false, until the majority of the seats on the School Board are replaced, the focus will continue to be on petty politics and not on serving students….”

The non-partisan general election will be held on May 22, 2018.

School Board President

- Joseph Alexander Buck
- Lawrence L Lower
- Betty G Morgan
- David Kingdon Lerch
- Tyesha Rochelle Whitely

School Board, District 4

- Shawn Anton Kachmar

School Board, District 5

- Irene Gadson Hines
- Theresa L Watson

School Board, District 6

- Alfreda Jeanette Goldwire
- David Andrew Bringman

School Board, District 8

- Tonia Denise Howard-Hall
- Ruby D Jones

More News

Meet the Team

Don't Miss

Latest News - Local

Video Center